h1

Appleseed pt. 11

December 18, 2008

So, I’m thinking that I may have run into a wall with my Appleseed training.  I’m getting better, but I want to start moving out to longer ranges than 25 yards.  In order to do that and enjoy myself doing it, I realize that I’m going to have to acquire a scope.

After much dithering, I decided on getting the Cabelas Alaskan Guide Rangefinder in the 3.5-10×42 config.

alaskan-guide

Why this model?  It’s got an implementation of a rangefinding reticle that is recommended by Fred in the Guide,

reticle-1

it’s got side focus, (preferred by Chris Byrne here at Anarchangel, though I can’t find the citation), it’s got parallax adjustment, and most importantly, I can afford to buy it (rather than buying a piece of junk that won’t hold zero).  Now I’ve got to acquire a mount, rings, and a new case to carry the damn thing around in…

