h1

My crisis of conscience over

September 16, 2008

I had mulled this over for a long time. I had almost given in to temptation, and gone over to the Statist side.  Like NOMAD the logic seemed inescapable.

Pure libertarianism wasn’t working (via Paul and the Rally for the Republic), therefore I would have to run for office as Paul seemed to be urging freedom-loving Americans to do.

But it’s not that simple.  People who end up running, no matter how they feel in the beginning, get tainted by the office they run for.  They get attacked by their opponent, and (figuratively) rectally examined for hint of wrong thinking, improper action, or moral impropriety.  And after all that, even if they as a a candidate win, how do you make someone else follow you, without either becoming the political creature most of us hate, or using the power of the State to coerce obedience?

No, Paul’s message is fine as far as it goes, but I won’t submit myself to the cheapening of political office.  I can’t. 

Hopefully, more new content in a couple of days.

