h1

What should I make of this?

December 10, 2007

http://www.wkrn.com/nashville/news/ap-wife-takes-up-husbands-army-enlistment/132209.htm

Part of me feels warmed by the devotion this woman shows to her husband.  Another part of me is weirded out by the manner of her expressing that devotion.

I’ll be the first to admit that I did not serve in the military.  My age and the nation’s history while I grew up gave me a deep distrust of the ultimate motives of those who would have sent me into war.  Thus, I’ve not been tested in this way (closest I’ve come to is the Selective Service card at the Post Office).

But to enlist in the same war that has damaged her husband? Wouldn’t her devotion be better served by caring for him and her child?  I’m not in her shoes, but am I wrong in thinking that this is a bad decision?

wifes-army-enlistment.jpg

