h1

Letter to the Senators

November 16, 2007

I’m always late to the party when it comes to gun rights, but I though I’d better send out a couple of emails to my senators before David Codrea comes to my house & kicks my ass…

http://waronguns.blogspot.com/2007/11/sink-sullivan-now.html

Here’s the text of mine (didn’t think individualizing the text would make much difference…and remember that I’m no Shakespeare…)

Dear Senator (Don’t-Give-A-Damn-About-Gun-Rights – and yes, I changed that name for the letter)

I demand you do not support the confirmation of Michael Sullivan to head of the BATFE. I have read of the persecution of law-abiding firearms dealers in the past for minor procedural matters (Red’s Trading Post) and fear that, should Sullivan be confirmed, such treatment will become even more commonplace.  I’ve also read of his disproportionate sentencing of minorities and find them distateful.

We need a fair and just person in this position – not a martinet.

