h1

Review – The Gang

October 2, 2007

gang1.jpg

Hi! Sorry I was away for a bit…

I’m going to try to give this as fair a review as possible, given that I totally agree with the premise. That being said, I think this documentary from Jews for the Preservation of Firearm Ownership is a little less effective than Innocence Betrayed, another Documentary I own from these fine people. Not that it’s not effective on its own terms – just that it’s a little slower moving.

gang2.jpg

My basic problem with this film is that it seems a little chatty compared to Innocents. I suppose that couldn’t be helped, seeing as it discusses in detail personal accounts of abuse by the ATF, and there was plenty of footage to be had of this rogue agency. (It’s funniest where they show the somersaults the ATF testing division has to go through in order to classify some part kits machine guns.)

 The interview segments do their job; portraying the ATF as something that we as Americans need to get rid of in order to keep our freedoms. Now: how the hell do you get Netflix to notice it…

