h1

Chicago – now with even more Surveillance goodness

September 28, 2007

Now tell me, gentle reader: does this sound like a workable function, especially with the problems (and I use that word charitably) that Britain has with its’ Panopticon state?

http://security.itworld.com/4357/070927chicagoscan/page_1.html

ibm_scans_chicago.jpg

I especially like the last paragraph, where Smith talks about the “challenge” of teaching the computer to recognize suspicious behavior – expect false alarm after false alarm, with innocent people getting charged left and right.

And Chicago isn’t the only one either – here’s what they’re doing in Cleveland (article isn’t there for free anymore – so I bought it from their archives.  See how much I love you, readers!)

cameras_zoom_in.jpg

