h1

Review – Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film For Theaters

September 2, 2007

athfcmfft.jpg

I’ve read the reviews – writing dumb as a box of rocks. Way too long. An insult to intelligence. Naturally, I had to go see it (and don’t give me any crap about waiting this long to see it either: I’ll review when I feel like it, thanks.)

I saw it in a theater where I was the only guy who showed up (it was a really nice day – I don’t blame anybody who wanted to stay away from the indoors, but I wanted to treat myself to a real theater movie). Sat there. Let the movie wash over me; as I’m only vaguely familiar with the characters.

Laughed my ass off.

If there isn’t a genre for surrealism cinema, there should be. Between all the non-sequiturs and weirdass situations, I found myself enjoying it overall. I won’t give you a rundown of the plot or characters – you can find those easily enough on the Web – but if you can get yourself into the mindset of trying to interpret Dali, I think you’ll enjoy yourself. I do also think that it was just a little on the long side, but then, is that a valid critique against surrealism?

