h1

Review – Militainment

August 28, 2007

militainment-1.jpg

I’ve just finished watching Militainment, Inc. on YouTube – it’s an interesting documentary about how war (and specifically, the war in Iraq) has bee presented to the US public as the best Reality TV show ever.

Look for part 1 of 12 here (and maybe someday I’ll figure out how to get video to embed in this fershlugginer blog):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R08dQhM8kXk

Passing thoughts:

militainment-2.jpg

1) I didn’t know I was a Techno-fetishist!

militainment-3.jpg
2) This is just wrong.

3) 30-some companies (including Sony) tried to trademark the phrase “shock & awe”.

4) The British military (it wasn’t specific about which branch) used the game Half-Life as a training simulator for new troops. At least they have good taste – that was a terrific game (I’m still steamed that I had to call Valve’s hint line to get instructions on how to get past the Gargantua).

