h1

Review – Renaissance

August 26, 2007

r1.jpg

I’m a sucker for a good dystopia movie – Blade Runner, Road Warrior, The Matrix – give me a future that I might just see and I’ll sit through it at least for a little while.  That’s why I was so jazzed to see the movie Renaissance.

 It’s Paris in 2054, and Karas (voice by Daniel Craig) must find a woman named Ilona, who is connected to the Avalon Corporation, which makes youth products (not beauty products – this stuff makes you younger).  She’s been kidnapped, and Karas must find her, with the help of Ilona’s sister.  Evil corporate types and shootings ensue.

r2.jpgLet me say right off – this is a very striking movie visually.  The choice to keep the film in plain B&W (with the occasional splash of color) lends it an almost manga feel. 

Renassance grab 3

I also liked keeping the story in Paris – gave it sort of “grounded” feel to the proceedings. I just wish the film had more to say – there was just a little too much film noir and not enough future added to the mix.

   IMDB says it was made on a shoestring in France over the course of six years – interesting.  However, I wonder if Miramax would’ve picked it up if it had been produced in the USA and was in full color?

r5.jpg

Only in France do 10-year olds still play with balloons…

