h1

Archive – A Statement of Intent

August 18, 2007

MARCH 13, 2007 

Hello, and welcome. I’m sure people will ask me, “why start a blog? What’s the point of typing your opinions for other people to see? Isn’t this the 21st Century equivalent of a spotty 14-year old’s diary, the kind that’s locked with a heart-shaped lock, where they’d speculate about whether Chad had noticed that they wore the teal blue shoes that matched their blouse just for him?”

Well, for an answer, I’ve been feeling for a while a…change in the world. that the world hasn’t been the same world that I grew up in, and hadn’t been for a long time. And I feel, if I didn’t comment, if I didn’t at least try to communicate that, I had betrayed what I might have been put on this Earth to do…if that makes any sense at all. Also, I got blackballed from too many blogs for saying Dick Cheney sneaks into my bedroom monthly and swipes my raspberry preserves.

And then; why is this blog called “The Club”?

Here’s a picture of Ukrainian President Viktor Yushchenko at his inauguration on January 23, 2005.

bulava.jpgHe holds a mace (called a Bulava in Ukrainian) which is a “symbol of power” according to ABC.net.au. Let’s think about that for a bit – he holds a mace to show he has power over others.Take a good look at that mace – note how spiky it is. How it would rip the flesh of those it was used against.

This is a representation of his symbolic power over his constituents. Is there anything that could be more literal about how the State holds power over us all?

Leave a Reply

